Forty-Nine Bearcats Set To Receive Degrees At 193rd Commencement


    Athletics News |

    June 7, 2012

    CINCINNATI – Forty-nine Bearcats will earn University of Cincinnati degrees on Friday, June 8 and Saturday, June 9, 2012, in a trio of ceremonies at Fifth Third Arena, marking the 193rd Commencement of the University.

    Of those 49, three will graduate magna cum laude, including cross country and track and field standout Eric Finan, as well as swimming’s Anna Bersani and Stephanie Conklin. Nine additional student-athletes will earn cum laude honors, including Lori Banky (lacrosse), Sydney Barker (women’s soccer), Jenn Doran (lacrosse), Matt Hargrove (men’s swimming), Sam Klosterman (men’s soccer), MacKenzie Parsons (lacrosse), Kelli Pawelko (women’s soccer), J.K. Schaffer (football) and Elise Woulfe (tennis).

    Also highlighting the weekend ceremonies will be the graduation of former UC Bearcat and current Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver Armon Binns, who majored in criminal justice with a minor in sociology.

    “I’ve been in Cincinnati for so long and to come away with a degree is going to mean the world to me and my mom,” Binns said. “I was a student-athlete again so it’s all good.”

    The opening ceremony will take place at 2 p.m. on Friday for the College of Education, Criminal Justice, and Human Services (CECH), as well as the College of Engineering and Applied Science (CEAS) and UC Blue Ash College.

    Saturday’s morning ceremony begins at 9 a.m. for the College of Allied Health Sciences, Carl H. Lindner College of Business, College-Conservatory of Music (CCM), College of Medicine and College of Nursing.

    The Saturday afternoon ceremony begins at 2 p.m. for the College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning (DAAP); James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy; McMicken College of Arts and Sciences (A&S); UC Clermont College.

    The addition of a third ceremony for undergraduates opens space for UC’s larger number of undergraduates earning degrees this spring – growth as a result of recruiting larger classes of freshmen and progress on increasing graduation rates. Ticket information is available from the Commencement website.

    Parking is free in all West Campus garages on June 8 and on June 9.


    Jamell Cervantez
    Nic Spence

    Women’s Basketball
    Chanel Chisholm
    Bjonee Reaves

    Alex Apyan
    Dominique Battle
    Armon Binns
    T.J. Franklin
    Reuben Haley
    Brendon Kay
    Danny Milligan
    Jared Rains
    Wesley Richardson
    J.K. Schaffer
    George Winn

    Men’s Golf
    Kurt Harris

    Lori Banky
    Gwen Branscome
    Jenn Doran
    Cathy Hebert
    Ali Mattingly
    Rachel Mercier
    MacKenzie Parsons
    Kylie Ramsland
    Katherine Russo
    Laura Simanski
    Gabby Sinmaz

    Men’s Soccer
    Sam Klosterman

    Women’s Soccer
    Sydney Barker
    Erin Kaufman
    Kelli Pawelko

    Men’s Swimming & Diving
    Matt Hargrove
    Haywood Miller

    Women’s Swimming & Diving
    Anna Bersani
    Stephanie Conklin
    Liz Hansson
    Josefin Wede

    Safiyya Ismail
    Elise Woulfe

    Women’s Track & Field
    Hauna Dawkins
    Jenna Heaton
    Aricka Rhodes
    Cortney Staruch

    Men’s Track & Field
    Mario Cannon
    Matthew Collmar
    Eric Finan
    Kyle Lang
    Richard Lupp
    Michael Rutherford