Bearcats Excel In Classroom In 2011-12

July 20, 2012

While it is no secret many University of Cincinnati student-athletes have excelled on the field, their commitment and excellence in the classroom often goes unnoticed. However, as the 2011-12 school year comes to a close, the UC Bearcats have proven their academic success is just one more achievement to be proud of.

This year, Cincinnati’s 17 varsity sports averaged a 3.0 grade-point-average. Of its 532 student-athletes, 215 were nominated for the 2011-12 BIG EAST All-Academic Team (awarded to those earning a 3.0 GPA for the preceding academic year, and must pass a minimum of 27 quarter credit hours) – 23 of those being from the football team. The academic accolades didn’t stop there, as nearly every team has its own standout season in the classroom.

More than half of the baseball team earned grade point averages of at least 3.0 in the spring and fall quarters. Senior catcher Jake Saylor was named the CEAS Scholar Athlete of the Month in April after posting a perfect 4.0 GPA in the fall.

Graduated senior Eric Finan (New Richmond, Ohio/New Richmond) was named to the 2012 Capital One Academic All-America® Division I Men's and Women's Track & Field/Cross Country Teams, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). Finan was also named the American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Graduated senior JK Schaffer (Cincinnati, Ohio/LaSalle) was tabbed as UC's 2012 Mr. Bearcat Award Winner by the Sigma Sigma Honor Fraternity. The Mr. Bearcat Award is to recognize and honor the outstanding graduating senior man who has achieved academic success, demonstrated leadership in diverse settings, and made a significant contribution to the University of Cincinnati, all while displaying "Bearcat spirit.” Additionally, Schaffer was named the American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Twenty-three University of Cincinnati student-athletes earned spots on the 2011 Academic All-BIG EAST Conference Football Team (Alex Apyan (Chattanooga, Tenn./Hixson), Austen Bujnoch (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder), Tom DeTemple (Cincinnati, Ohio/Moeller), Drew Frey (Wilmington, Ohio/Clinton-Massie), Jacob Giltrow (West Chester, Ohio/Lakota West), Dan Giordano (Frankfort, Ill./Lincoln-Way East), Alex Hoffman (Indianapolis, Ind./Cathedral), Sean Hooey (Litchfield, Mich./Hillsdale), Brendon Kay (Marine City, Mich./Marine City), Cory Keebler (Liberty Township, Ohio/Lakota East), Eric Lefeld (Coldwater, Ohio/Coldwater), John Lloyd (Cincinnati, Ohio/CHCA), Colin Lozier (Cincinnati, Ohio/Colerain), Jordan Luallen (Greenwood, Ind./Center Grove/Georgia Tech), Breon Mapp (Cincinnati, Ohio/Anderson/Thomas More), Mitch Meador (Greenwood, Ind./Whiteland Community), Tony Miliano (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder), Pat O'Donnell (Lakeworth, Fla./Palm Beach Central), Demetrius Richardson (Marlton, N.J./Cherokee/USMAPS), Josh Russ (Elyria, Ohio/Elyria Catholic), J.K. Schaffer (Cincinnati, Ohio/LaSalle), George Winn (Southfield, Mich./University of Detroit Jesuit) and Adrian Witty (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach).

The National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA) deemed Olivia Dose (Goteborg, Sweden/Goteborg Hogre Samskola) and Maria Roos (Uppsala, Sweden/Mississippi State) 2011-2012 All-American Scholar Recipients.

Every member of the 2012 squad earned a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above.

University of Cincinnati swimmers Liz Hansson (Lund, Sweden/School of St. Petri), Josefin Wede (Landskrona, Sweden/Gripenskolan/Auburn) and Helena Pikhartova (Prague, Czech Republic/Gymnazium Jana Nerudy) each received individual Scholar All-America honors from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA).

For the sixth consecutive year, the UC women’s soccer team earned the National Soccer Coaches Association of America’s Team Academic Award.

University of Cincinnati senior volleyball player Missy Harpenau (Cincinnati, Ohio/Mother of Mercy) was named the Greater Cincinnati Northern Kentucky Women's Sports Association College Sportswoman of the Year, as announced at the 19th annual awards banquet.