Legion of Excellence Gala Set for Oct. 26

Oct. 21, 2011

CINCINNATI- The University of Cincinnati's annual Legion of Excellence gala will be held on Wednesday, Oct. 26, at the Kingsgate Marriott. The event opens with a reception at 6 p.m. and dinner will be served at 7 p.m.

The top student-athletes from each of UC's 18 varsity sports will be honored. The selection for Legion of Excellence is based on the highest cumulative grade-point average on the respective team for the previous school year and good academic standing within the individual's athletics team and college.

Along with the current student-athlete honorees, the 2011 James. P. Kelly Athletics Hall of Fame class will be officially inducted. This year's hall of fame class includes former swimmer and current swimming and diving head coach Monty Hopkins, former men's basketball standout Jason Maxiell, Major League Baseball Hall of Fame inductee Sandy Koufax and the 1960-61 national champion men's basketball team, the first team to be inducted into UC's Hall of Fame.

Induction into the Order of the Black Blazer, recognizing individuals for their contributions and support of UC Athletics, will be bestowed upon Edward E. Betz and Frederick G. Koehler. Presentation of the Strubbe Distinguished Service Award will go to Douglas G. Hughes and Gregory C. Wolf.

Reservations for UC supporters wishing to attend the gala are being accepted. Tickets for the event are $100 per person. The Non-deductible cost of each ticket is $50. All proceeds go towards scholarships for student-athletes. For additional information, please call the UCATS Office at 513-556-4843 or e-mail us at ucats@uc.edu.

2011 Legion of Excellence Inductees
Justin Ridell, Baseball
Alex Eppensteiner, Men's Basketball
Elese Daniel, Women's Basketball
Chase Beckmann, Men's Cross Country
Lilian Jelimo, Women's Cross Country
Alex Apyan, Football
Zach Bates, Men's Golf
Jenny Linville, Women's Golf
MacKenzie Parsons, Lacrosse
Sam Klosterman, Men's Soccer
Kelli Pawelko, Women's Soccer
Stephen Cunningham, Men's Swimming and Diving
Anna Bersani, Women's Swimming and Diving
Elise Woulfe, Tennis
Brian Zimmerman, Men's Track and Field
Ashley Arnold, Women's Track and Field
Annie Fesl, Volleyball