Bearcats End Regular Season with Dual-Meet Wins Over WSU
Sr. Haywood Miller

Feb. 6, 2012

Complete Results

CINCINNATI – The University of Cincinnati men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams earned a pair of dual-meet victories against Wright State University on Saturday at Keating Aquatics Center.

The UC women defeated Wright State 181-104, while the Cincinnati men topped WSU 155-133.

The Cincinnati women had one of their most dominating performances of the season after recording first-place finished in 11 of 16 events.

Sophomores Katie Nemann and Weronika Wasiakowska, as well as seniors Liz Hansson and Josefin Wede, paced the Bearcats with two individual wins apiece.

Nemann placed first in the 1,000-yard freestyle with a mark of 10 minutes, 35.20 seconds. She also arose victorious in the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 5:11.06.

Wasiakowska led a quartet of Bearcats who placed in the top four of the 100-yard freestyle with a first-place time of 51.82 seconds. She also added a win in the 100-yard backstroke with a recorded time of 58.00 seconds.

Hansson earned a win in the 50-yard freestyle with a mark of 23.77 seconds, just .38 seconds behind the KAC pool record. She later added another in the 200-yard backstroke after finishing in 2:04.85.  

Wede gave UC first-place points in the 200-yard breaststroke and 200-yard individual medley after finishing in 2:20.07 and 2:08.86, respectively.

In the men’s division, junior Roberto Nevarez led the Bearcats with two individual wins in the 100 and 200-yard butterflies with marks of 51.50 and 1:57.56, respectively.

 Senior Haywood Miller added an individual win in the 200 IM with a mark of 1:56.43.

UC bid farewell to its seven seniors – Anna Bersani, Stephanie Conklin, Renee DeSalle, Hansson, Wede, Miller and Matt Hays – who were honored prior to the start of the swimming competitions as part of Senior Day festivities.

Cincinnati will head into postseason action beginning with the BIG EAST Conference diving championships Feb. 10-12, and continuing with the conference swimming championships Feb. 15-18 in Pittsburgh, Pa.