Swimming & Diving Wraps Action At Purdue Invitational

Nov. 21, 2010

Complete Results

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The University of Cincinnati swimming and diving squad closed out the three-day Purdue Invitational Sunday, inside the Boilermaker Aquatic Center in West Lafayette, Ind.

The men's team finished sixth with 144 points. Host Purdue was first (968.5), followed by Ohio State (761.5), Louisville (653.5), Southern Illinois (381.5), Missouri State (310), UC, and Michigan (89).

The women's squad was seventh with 155 points. Arkansas (811.5) was first, followed by Louisville (689), Ohio State (677), Purdue (520.5), Michigan (405), Missouri State (182), the Bearcats, and Southern Illinois (125).

Liz Hansson took fifth place in the A final of the women's 200-yard backstroke. The junior clocked 2:00.20, just off the NCAA B cut of 1:59.24.

Joe Scherpenberg (1:56.90) and Brandon Metzler (1:58.66) took third and fourth place, respectively, in the men's 200 butterfly event.

Bailey Laban clocked a season-best time of 51.75 to win the C final in the 100 freestyle. She trailed after the first 25 yards, pulling even at the 50 yard mark and holding off Sig Sverrisdottir who was second in 51.77.

Stephanie Conklin earned a second-place finish in the B final of the 200 breaststroke with her effort of 2:20.05 and Josefin Wede won the C final with a time of 2:21.80. Victoria Jacumski placed fourth in the C final with her clocking of 2:22.96.

Haywood Miller had a time of 2:11.19 to place seventh in the B final of the 200 breaststroke while Britton Van Dissel took second place in the C final with his effort of 2:14.16 ahead of Mike Whipkey (2:14.44) who was fourth, and Matt Hargrove (2:19.39) in fifth.



Laurie Caudy placed fourth in the women's 200 butterfly event with a time of 2:04.78.

Katie Nemann earned a time of 17:39.30 in the 1,650 freestyle event, placing 28th. Melody Smith (17:58.67) was 30th in the same race.

Stephen Cunningham timed in at 15:56.87 to take 11th place in the men's 1,650 freestyle race ahead of Nathan Williams (16:02.38) who placed 16th.

In the 400 freestyle relay, the UC A quartet of Hansson, Sammie Wheeler, Kinsey Kowalski, and Laban placed eighth with a time of 3:27.23. The B team of Weronika Wasiakowska, Alicia Berman, Bree Rossi, and Caudry took 19th with a time of 3:35.19, the C team of Jacumski, Nemann, Wede, and Amanda Hardewig were 24th in 3:42.16, while Anna Bersani, Kirsten Rissover, Erin Frye, and Brittany Grone took 25th with a time of 3:45.85.

The three men's 400 freestyle relay teams placed 12-13-14 with the A group of Roberto Nevarez, Williams, Chirs Hale, and Matt Hays in 12th (3:10.61). The B group of Rob Walsh, Cunningham, Seth Poitinger, and Miller was 13th (3:16.66), and the C quartet of Daniel Oldham, Adam Monk, Joe Scherpenberg, and Britton Van Dissel took 14th (3:20.36).

UC returns to the pool from Dec. 2-4 in the Miami (OH) Invitational in Oxford, Ohio.