UC Swim/Dive Conclude Action at Miami Invitational
Sr. Josefin Wede

Dec. 3, 2011

Women's Results | Men's Results

OXFORD, Ohio – The University of Cincinnati swimming and diving teams wrapped up competition Saturday evening at the Miami University Invitational at Nixon Aquatic Center.

The Cincinnati women ended the three-day meet in fourth place out of eight teams with a point total of 1,159. The Miami Redhawks women placed first with 2,637 points.

The UC men’s team finished fifth overall out of eight teams with 944.5 points. Denison University, the defending NCAA Division II champion, placed first with 2,459.5 points.

Senior Josefin Wede (Landskrona, Sweden/Gripenskolan/Auburn), the UC record holder in the 200-yard breaststroke, produced Cincinnati’s lone individual champion after she won the 200 breast with a recorded time of 2 minutes, 17.61 seconds, an all-time top 10 school mark.

Wede added a second-place finish in the women’s 200 IM with a time of 2:03.98, just .17 seconds behind first place.

Senior Liz Hansson (Lund, Sweden/School of St. Petri)placed second in the 100-yard freestyle after finishing in 50.49 seconds, which was .58 seconds out of first place.

In the women’s 100-yard butterfly, junior Brittany Groene (Cincinnati, Ohio/Turpin) gave Cincinnati seventh place points after recording a time of 56.65.

Both, the UC women and men’s 200-yard medley relay teams placed fifth in the ‘A’ finals. The Bearcat women’s squad of sophomore Weronika Wasiakowska (Przykop, Poland/School of Sports Championship), sophomore Sammie Wheeler (Loveland, Ohio/Loveland), Groene and Hansson produced a time of 1:44.97. The men’s team of freshman Awse Ma’aya (Amman, Jordan/The Bolles School), senior Haywood Miller (Bethesda, Md./Bethesda-Chevy Chase/Maryland), junior Roberto Nevarez (Chihuahua, Mexico/ITESM Chihuahua) and senior Matt Hays (Westerville, Ohio/Westerville South) finished in 1:34.02.

Miller finished fourth in the 200-yard breaststroke with a mark of 2:05.18.

Sophomore Joe Scherpenberg (Cincinnati, Ohio/La Salle) recorded a fifth-place showing in the 200-yard backstroke with a mark of 1:51.42.

Nevarez gave the Bearcats a sixth-place showing in the 100 free with a time of 46.13.

UC’s next competition is Dec. 17 at the Florida Atlantic University Invitational in Boca Raton, Fla.

Women’s Team Rankings
1. Miami University        2,637
2. Emory University        1,818
3. Denison University    1,586.5
4. University of Cincinnati    1,159
5. Wright State University    659
6. Southern Illinois University    598.5
7. Illinois State University    146
8. West Virginia University    80

Men’s Team Rankings
1. Denison University        2,459.5

2. Emory University        1,673
3. Southern Illinois University    1,456
4. Miami University        1,156
5. University of Cincinnati    944.5   
6. Wright State University    782
7. University of Michigan    217
8. West Virginia University    37



PIKHARTOVA SWIMS AT NATIONALS: Freshman Helena Pikhartova (Prague, Czech Republic/Gymnazium Jana Nerudy), the UC record holder in the 200-yard breaststroke, swam at the AT&T USA Swimming Long Course Nationals Friday and Saturday at Georgia Tech Aquatic Center in Atlanta, Ga.

On Friday, Pikhartova placed 16th overall in the preliminary round of the 100-meter long course breaststroke with a mark of 1:11.14. She then placed 10th out of 10 in the ‘B’ final after finishing in 1:12.15.

Pikhartova also competed in women’s 200-meter long course breaststroke on Saturday. She placed 15th overall in the preliminary round with a time of 2:34.62. In the ‘B’ final, she finished in 2:36.28, which was good for 10th place out of 10.