T&F: Valles Names American’s Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year
March 2, 2017

CINCINNATI - The 2016-17 American Athletic Conference Institutional Male Scholar-Athlete Awards were announced the league office today with Adrian Valles, a member of the University of Cincinnati track and field program, also being selected as the 2016-17 American Athletic Conference Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Each year, the Faculty Athletic Representatives at each member institution, in consultation with members of the athletic department, nominate one student-athlete that has been successful both academically and athletically. Of the 11 members institutions, Valles is one of four individuals selected that compete in cross country and/or track and field with five baseball players, one soccer player and one swimming & diving competitor also earning honors this year. Once those 11 individuals were selected by the Conference’s Academic Affairs Committee, Valles was chosen out of that group as the scholar-athlete of the year, making him the second Bearcat to earn the honor in the Conference’s four-year history after Brian Barney was also named the male scholar-athlete of the year for the 2014-15 academic year.

With his selection as UC’s recipient, Valles will be awarded a $2,000 scholarship toward his graduate or professional studies and earned an additional $2,000 for being named the scholar-athlete of the year.

During his time in Cincinnati, Valles has been a standout in both arenas. Academically, the Pamplona, Spain, native has maintained a 3.96 GPA in industrial management and has been selected for several academic awards, including CoSIDA Academic All-America Second Team and American Athletic All-Academic. Athletically, the 2015 IAAF World Championships participant recently won his fifth-consecutive American Athletic Conference pole vault crown after clearing a school and meet-record 5.60m (18-04.25) to win his third indoor crown in a row.

A three-time USTFCCCA All-American, Valles recently earned a berth into the NCAA Indoor Championships for the third year in a row and will enter the meet ranked fourth nationally. He and teammate Annette Echikunwoke (women’s weight throw) will compete in the national meet March 10-11 in College Station, Texas.

2016-17 American Athletic Conference Institutional Male Scholar-Athlete Awards
UCF - Robby Howell (baseball)
Cincinnati - Adrian Valles (track & field)
UConn - Wyatt Million (cross country)
East Carolina - Travis Watkins (baseball)
Houston - Connor Hollis (baseball)
Memphis - Alex Klatt (track & field)
USF - Mark Savarese (baseball)
SMU - Bryce Klein (swim & dive)
Temple - Alexander Cagle (soccer)
Tulane - Hunter Williams (baseball)
Tulsa - Adam Roderique (cross country)

American Athletic Conference Male Scholar-Athletes of the Year
2016-17 - Adrian Valles (track & field) - Cincinnati
2015-16 - Blair Hamilton (golf) - Houston
2014-15 - Brian Barney (track & field) - Cincinnati
2013-14 - Vaughn Spurrier (soccer) - Temple