Track & Field Qualifies 17 Individuals For NCAA East Preliminary
Brian Zimmerman

May 17, 2012

CINCINNATI - The University of Cincinnati track and field team qualified 17 individuals and a relay team for the 2012 NCAA Division I Track & Field East Preliminary Round on Thursday, May 24-Saturday, May 26 in Jacksonville, Fla.

Qualifying teams and individuals advance to the 2012 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Des Moines, Iowa on June 6-9, 2012.

The women's 11 individual qualifiers include: Frida Akerstrom (shot put), Mary Bridges (discus),Jasmine Cotton (heptathlon), Michelle Eby (pole vault), Danheisha Harding (100 hurdles), Kathy Klump (800 meters), Emelie Larsson (javelin), Jessica Molyet (discus) and Shanay Portis (100 & 200 meters). Cotten also qualified in the high jump but withdrew to focus on the heptathlon. Pole vaulter Sarah Rasnick, the 2012 BIG EAST Conference Indoor Champion, was also among the qualifiers but withdrew due to injury.

UC also qualified the 4x400 relay team of Portis, Jalisa Jarrett, Aricka Rhodes and Klump, who jumped 28 slots on the descending order list with a strong effort at the Virginia Challenge this past weekend.

Cotten will be part of a 24-student-athlete field in the heptathlon that advances directly to the NCAA Championship on June 7-8 at Drake Stadium.

The men's team qualified six individuals in seven events, including: Josh Dangel (pole vault), Jake Haseman (discus), Chris Littleton (discus & shot put), Dailyn Moore (110 hurdles), Michael Rutherford (800 meters) and Brian Zimmerman (javelin).



The University of North Florida will play host to the east preliminary at Hodges Stadium.

Thursday events include the 100 meters, 800 meters, javelin, men's discus and shot put. Friday will feature the 100 hurdles, quarterfinals for the 100 and 800 meters, the 200 meters, hammer, women's pole vault and women's discus. Saturday will feature the quarterfinals for the 100 hurdles and 200 meters, the 4x400 relay, men's pole vault, and the men's shot put.

The semifinals and finals for each event will take place in Des Moines, Iowa for qualifying student-athletes. Only the top-12 competitors out of the 48 participating in each event will advance to Drake Stadium.