Track & Field Hands Out Postseason Awards
Kathy Klump

May 24, 2012

CINCINNATI - The University of Cincinnati track and field team handed out its postseason awards at the team's annual awards banquet held in Fifth Third Arena on May 20, 2012.

Kathy Klump was the winner of the Gettler Spirit of Track & Field Award. The award is presented annually to the single individual male or female that best represents UC Track and Field. They are the face of the program excelling in every aspect as a Bearcats student-athlete

Klump won the BIG EAST Most Outstanding Indoor Track Performer honor after winning the 500- and 800 meter conference championship at the league indoor meet. She went on to earn USTFCCCA Indoor All-American honors at the NCAA Indoor Championship. She was in the Top-3 for the 800 meters at the BIG EAST Outdoor Championship and qualified for the NCAA East Preliminary Round. In addition, Klump was named the women's track MVP.

Jasmine Cotton was the women's field MVP. The senior was the 2012 BIG EAST Indoor Pentathlon Champion, the BIG EAST Indoor Most Outstanding Field Performer and an USTFCCCA Indoor All-American. She also won the league's outdoor championship in the heptathlon while qualifying for the NCAA Championship.

Jake Haseman was named the men's MVP and Brian Zimmerman earned the Most Oustanding Performer honor. Zimmerman was the 2012 BIG EAST Outdoor Javelin Champion, completing a comeback from a shoulder injury which sidelined him for a good portion of the 2011 season. Haseman qualified for the NCAA East meet in the discus throw and also placed fourth in the conference meet in both the discus and hammer.

Josh Ballenger and Kaitlyn Good were named most improved for the men's and women's team, respectively. Ballenger qualified for the BIG EAST meet in the discus and javelin while Good finished second in the heptathlon at the BIG EAST Conference Outdoor Championship behind league champion and teammate Jasmine Cotton.



Frida Akerstrom, Shanay Portis, Chris Littleton and Michael Rutherford were presented with the 2012 Bearcat Award. The Bearcat Award is given to those who compete like a Bearcat, attacking each day and competition with a fierce and complete intensity. All four of the winners were BIG EAST and NCAA East qualifiers.

Akerstrom and Zimmerman were also presented with the best teammate honor.

Tariq Sanders and Emelie Larsson earned the Best Freshman Honor. Larsson set the UC record in the javelin on several occasions, establishing herself among the Top-15 throwers in the country this season. Sanders was among the Top-10 performers in the long jump and triple jump at the conference outdoor meet. Eric Finan and Alison Zukowski were named the men's and women's cross country MVPs, respectively. Finan was the 2011 BIG EAST Champion and a USTFCCCA All-American at the NCAA meet. He also was named the 2012 American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Zukowski led the women's team all season including a Top-50 finish at the BIG EAST Championhip and a Top-65 finish at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional Championship.

Men's Track & Field Best Teammate: Brian Zimmerman
Women's Track & Field Best Teammate: Frida Akerstrom

Men's Track & Field Most Improved: Josh Ballenger
Women's Track & Field Most Improved: Kaitlyn Good

Men's Track & Field Best Freshman: Tariq Sanders
Women Track & Field Best Freshman: Emelie Larsson

Women's Track & Field Bearcat Award: Frida Akerstrom & Shanay Portis
Men's Track & Field Bearcat Award: Chris Littleton & Michael Rutherford

Women's Cross Country MVP: Alison Zukowski
Men's Cross Country MVP: Eric Finan

Women's Field MVP: Jasmine Cotten
Women's Track MVP: Kathy Klump

Men's Track & Field MVP: Jake Haseman
Men's Track & Field MOP: Brian Zimmerman

Gettler Spirit of Track & Field Award: Kathy Klump