Eric Finan Named American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
Eric Finan

Feb. 8, 2012

CINCINNATI - University of Cincinnati cross country and track standout Eric Finan (New Richmond, Ohio/New Richmond) was named the American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year Wednesday.

The selection was made by the conference's Academic Affairs Committee and is presented on the basis of academic credentials and athletic performance.

Finan, a graduate student, is the first UC student-athlete to win the award.

Finan earned all-America status in both cross country and track & field during his career after he finished 10th in the 5,000-meter run at the 2011 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships and was 25th at the 2011 NCAA Cross Country Championships. He was the 2011 BIG EAST cross country champion and was the runner-up at the 2011 NCAA Great Lakes Regional after winning that event in 2010 and won a BIG EAST title in the 5,000 at last year's outdoor track & field championship.

He holds school records in the indoor 3,000 and 5,000 events and is the outdoor record-holder in the 5,000 and 10,000. He finished as Cincinnati's top cross country finisher in every race since the start of the 2009 season.

Finan, who holds a 3.785 grade-point average in Cincinnati's master of business administration program, earned an undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering with a 3.897 GPA. He was the recipient of Cincinnati's Legion of Excellence Award, as the student-athlete with the highest grade-point average on his team and was admitted to the College of Engineering's Accend program, a joint undergraduate and graduate program for the most academically qualified engineering majors.

He has been on the dean's list for every academic quarter he has attended UC (2007-present) and was a BIG EAST Academic All-Star in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Finan was the student president of Cincinnati's Athletes in Action program and served as vice-president of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. He is a member of the Sigma Sigma honorary fraternity and has been active with a number of community service efforts.



The American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is one of a number of scholarships presented by the BIG EAST Conference and American Eagle Outfitters during the 2011-12 academic year. Thirty-two student-athletes (one male and one female from each of the BIG EAST's 16 member institutions) will be named as the winners of the American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Institutional Scholar-Athlete Scholarships. The conference also names male and female American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Basketball Scholar-Athletes of the Year and an American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

American Eagle Outfitters BIG EAST Male Scholar-Athletes Of The Year

1985       Joey David, Pittsburgh, Basketball

1986       John Prior, Connecticut, Track & Field

1987       Harold Jensen, Villanova, Basketball

1988       Dave Echeverria, Villanova, Swimming & Diving

1989       Chris Craft, Villanova, Swimming & Diving

1990       Pat O'Kelly, Seton Hall, Soccer

1991       David Honor, St. John's, Baseball

1992       Steve Holman, Georgetown, Track & Field

1993       Hector Zamora, Seton Hall, Soccer

1994       Sebastien Goulet, Swimming, Syracuse

1995       Kevin Lyles, Seton Hall, Track & Field

1996       Gil Kovalski, Miami, Tennis

1997       Christian Fogarazzo, St. John's, Track & Field

1998       Errol Williams, Notre Dame, Track & Field

1999       Angelo Ciminiello, Providence, Baseball

2000       Scott VanEpps, Pittsburgh, Swimming & Diving

2001       Chris Hamblin, Boston College, Soccer

2002       Gregory Strohmann, Seton Hall, Soccer

2003       Casey Schmidt, Boston College, Soccer

2004       Chris Wingert, St. John's, Soccer

2005       Guy Melamed, Boston College, Soccer

2006       Trevor O'Grady, Rutgers, Track & Field

2007       Drew Eckman, Villanova, Track & Field

2008       Jeremy Stultz, Pittsburgh, Swimming & Diving

2009       Zak Boggs, USF, Soccer

2010       Francisco Aristeguieta, USF, Soccer

2011       Brian Karalunas, Villanova, Lacrosse

2012       Eric Finan, Cincinnati, Cross Country/Track & Field