Ian Happ Named to USA Baseball Preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List
Sophomore Ian Happ

Feb. 14, 2014

CINCINNATI – USA Baseball released its 60-man preseason Golden Spikes Award watch list on Friday, selecting University of Cincinnati baseball sophomore Ian Happ. The preseason watch list launches the organization’s journey to naming the top amateur baseball player in the country on July 17.

The list will be a “rolling list” until May 27, ensuring that athletes can play themselves into consideration for the award throughout the collegiate and high school seasons.

A 50-man midseason watch list will be released on April 10 and a 30-man watch list on May 8. The award’s semifinalists will be announced on May 27 with finalists announced on June 3 and the Golden Spikes Award presentation on July 17.

Happ, a 2013 Freshman All-America selection, started all 56 games for the Bearcats during his freshman campaign. He led the team with 41 runs scored, 13 doubles, six homeruns and 47 walks. He recorded a team-high .322 batting average, a .483 slugging percentage and a .451 on-base percentage.

The sophomore was one of only two players named to the watch list from the American Athletic Conference.

2014 Preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List
Name, Position, Class, School
Brian Anderson, IF, Junior, Arkansas
Tyler Beede, RHP, Junior, Vanderbilt
David Berg, RHP, Junior, UCLA
Alex Blandino, IF, Junior, Stanford
Skye Bolt, OF, Sophomore, North Carolina
Alex Bregman, IF, Sophomore, Louisiana State
Nick Burdi, RHP, Junior, Louisville
Ryan Burr, RHP, Sophomore, Arizona State
Matt Chapman, IF, Junior, Cal State Fullerton
Kyle Cody, RHP, Sophomore, Kentucky
Michael Cederoth, RHP, Junior, San Diego State
Michael Conforto, OF, Junior, Oregon State
Austin Cousino, OF, Junior, Kentucky
Kevin Cron, IF, Junior, TCU
J.D. Davis, OF/RHP, Junior, Cal State Fullerton
Dylan Davis, OF, Junior, Oregon State
Brannon Easterling, RHP, Junior, St. Edward’s
Thomas Eshelman, RHP, Sophomore, Cal State Fullerton
Erick Fedde, RHP, Junior, UNLV
Brandon Finnegan, LHP, Junior, TCU
Derek Fisher, OF, Junior, Virginia
Jack Flaherty, IF/RHP, Senior, Harvard-Westlake (Calif.) HS
Kyle Freeland, LHP, Junior, Evansville
Justin Garza, RHP, Sophomore, Cal State Fullerton
Michael Gettys, OF, Senior, Gainesville (Ga.) HS
Casey Gillaspie, IF, Junior, Wichita State
Grayson Greiner, C, Junior, South Carolina
Chris Haddeland, RHP, Junior, Linfield
Ian Happ, IF, Sophomore, Cincinnati
Jeff Hoffman, RHP, Junior, East Carolina
Jonathan Holder, RHP, Junior, Mississippi State
Jason Hoppe, RHP, Senior, Minnesota State
Matt Imhof, LHP, Junior, Cal Poly
Alex Jackson, C, Senior, Rancho Bernardo (Calif.) HS
Ryan Kellogg, LHP, Sophomore, Arizona State
Ross Kivett, IF, Senior, Kansas State
Zech Lemond, RHP, Sophomore, Rice
Patrick Mazeika, C/OF, Sophomore, Stetson
Daniel Mengden, RHP/C, Texas A&M
Andrew Moore, RHP, Sophomore, Oregon State
Harrison Musgrave, LHP, RS-Junior, West Virginia
Kevin Newman, IF, Sophomore, Arizona
Aaron Nola, RHP, Junior, Louisiana State
Joey Pankake, IF, Junior, South Carolina
Mike Papi, OF, Junior, Virginia
Max Pentecost, C, Junior, Kennesaw State
A.J. Reed, LHP/1B, Junior, Kentucky
Carlos Rodon, LHP, Junior, NC State
Kyle Schwarber, C, Junior, Indiana
Nick Sell, IF, Junior, Seton Hill
Taylor Sparks, IF, Junior, UC Irvine
D.J. Stewart, OF, Sophomore, Florida State
Trent Thorton, RHP, Sophomore, North Carolina
Tommy Thorpe, LHP, Junior, Oregon
Sam Travis, IF, Junior, Indiana
Trea Turner, IF, Junior, NC State
Luke Weaver, RHP, Sophomore, Florida State
Ben Wetzler, LHP, Senior, Oregon State
Mikey White, IF, Sophomore, Alabama
Bradley Zimmer, OF, Junior, San Francisco