Ian Happ Named to 50-Man Golden Spikes Award Watch List
Sophomore Ian Happ

April 10, 2014

CINCINNATI – Cincinnati baseball sophomore Ian Happ (Pittsburgh, Pa./Mt. Lebanon) was named to the 50-man watch list for the Golden Spikes Award as announced by USA Baseball on Thursday afternoon. The Golden Spikes Award is designed to name the top amateur baseball player in the country.

Happ was named to the 60-man watch list on Feb. 14 and is one of 27 players from the original preseason list to be mentioned on the 50-man roster. He is joined by 23 new players to the watch list.

Through 31 games in the 2014 season, Happ leads the team with a .356 batting average, a .558 slugging percentage and a .473 on-base percentage. He has 37 hits, 10 doubles and three homeruns to go with 23 RBIs and 22 runs scored.

In the American Athletic Conference statistics, he ranks fourth in batting average, third in slugging percentage, second in on-base percentage, ninth in runs batted in, third in doubles, eighth in total bases and seventh in walks (20).

A 30-man watch list will be released on May 8 with the semifinalists named on May 27 and finalists announced on June 3. The Golden Spikes Award presentation will be held on July 17.

2014 50-Man Golden Spikes Award Watch List
Name, Position, Class, School (in order of last name, new players italicized)
Brady Aiken, LHP, Senior, Cathedral Catholic (Calif.) HS
Brian Anderson, IF, Junior, Arkansas
Brett Austin, C, Junior, NC State
Tyler Beede, RHP, Junior, Vanderbilt
Aaron Brown, OF/LHP, Junior, Pepperdine
Nick Burdi, RHP, Junior, Louisville
Michael Conforto, OF, Junior, Oregon State
Austin Cousino, OF, Junior, Kentucky
J.D. Davis, OF/RHP, Junior, Cal State Fullerton
Tyler Davis, RHP, Junior, Washington
Chris Ellis, RHP, Junior, Mississippi
Joey Epperson, OF/IF, RS-Senior, UC Santa Barbara
Thomas Eshelman, RHP, Sophomore, Cal State Fullerton
Erick Fedde, RHP, Junior, UNLV
Brandon Finnegan, LHP, Junior, TCU
Blake Fox, LHP, Sophomore, Rice
Kyle Freeland, LHP, Junior, Evansville
Clinton Freeman, OF, Sophomore, East Tennessee State
Jeff Gardner, OF, Senior, Louisville
Aaron Garza, RHP, Junior, Houston
Casey Gillaspie, IF, Junior, Wichita State
Grayson Greiner, C, Junior, South Carolina
Chris Haddeland, RHP, Junior, Linfield
Ian Happ, IF, Sophomore, Cincinnati
Seth Harrison, OF, Senior, Louisiana Lafayette
Matt Imhof, LHP, Junior, Cal Poly
Michael Katz, IF, Junior, William & Mary
Nathan Kirby, LHP, Sophomore, Virginia
Ross Kivett, IF, Senior, Kansas State
Ryan McBroom, OF, Senior, West Virginia
Daniel Miles, IF, Junior, Tennessee Tech
DJ Miller, IF, Senior, Delaware State
Corey Miller, RHP, Senior, Pepperdine
Andrew Morales, RHP, Senior, UC Irvine
Michael Murray, RHP, Sophomore, Florida Gulf Coast
Aaron Nola, RHP, Junior, LSU
Mike Papi, OF, Junior, Virginia
Mark Payton, OF, Senior, Texas
Max Pentecost, C, Junior, Kennesaw State
A.J. Reed, LHP/IF, Junior, Kentucky
Kyle Schwarber, C, Junior, Indiana
Kade Scivicque, C, Junior, LSU
Austen Smith, IF, Senior, Alabama
D.J. Stewart, OF, Sophomore, Florida State
Ryan Thompson, RHP, Senior, Campbell
Trent Thornton, RHP, Sophomore, North Carolina
Sam Travis, IF, Junior, Indiana
Luke Weaver, RHP, Sophomore, Florida State
Ben Wetzler, LHP, Senior, Oregon State
Bradley Zimmer, OF, Junior, San Francisco