Mick Cronin to Receive Award at Roger Bacon Winter Sports Stag

Jan. 21, 2010

University of Cincinnati head men's basketball coach Mick Cronin will be presented the Tom Roebel Good Fellowship Award at the 40th Annual Roger Bacon High School Sports Stag tonight.

The Roebel Good Fellowship award is given in recognition of Tom Roebel, who for more than 25 years gave his time and energy to Roger Bacon as a teacher and coach. Roebel passed away in 2006 at the age of 49. Other winners of the award include: Joe Nuxhall (the first recipient), Jack Twyman, Reggie Williams, Ken Anderson, Chris Collinsworth, Marty Brennaman, Pete Gillen, Skip Prosser, Bob Huggins, Brian Kelly, Charlie Coles, Marvin Lewis, Dave Lapham, and Lance McAlister.

Cronin will be honored along with the school's Hall of Fame Inductees and the winner of the Bron Bacevich Award. The program will also include a special recognition of the school's 1989 and 1990 back-to-back state soccer championship teams.

As the fourth-year head coach of the Bearcats, Cronin has led UC to a record of 13-6 this season with a 4-3 mark in BIG EAST Conference play. Cincinnati was ranked as high as No. 19 earlier this season in the polls, the first time a UC team was ranked since the 2005-06 season, and made it to the championship game of the EA Sports Maui Invitational.