Kilpatrick Selected for World Games Training Camp

June 3, 2013

USA Basketball Release

University of Cincinnati guard Sean Kilpatrick (Yonkers, N.Y./Notre Dame Prep) has been invited by the USA Basketball Men's Junior National Team Committee to attend the 2013 USA Basketball Men's World University Games Team training camp.  

Kilpatrick is one of 29 of the nation's top collegiate athletes that were chosen to attend the training camp, which will be held June 24-30 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center (USOTC) in Colorado Springs, Colo. Finalists for the team are expected to be announced on June 27 or 28, and the 12-member roster will be announced prior to the team's departure on July 1. The 2013 World University Games men's basketball competition is July 7-16 in Kazan, Russia.

Kilpatrick earned second team All-BIG EAST Conference honors during the 2012-13 campaign when he ranked fifth in the league averaging 17.0 points and was fourth in three-pointers per game at 2.41. He also was named to the John Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 list and was a Naismith Award Top 30 selection.

Recognized by the BIG EAST seven times during the 2012-13 season, Kilpatrick set the school record for points in a league game, netting a career-high 36 on 11-of-23 shooting with five three-pointers against Marquette (Jan. 19).  He also scored 32 points while making a school record 16 consecutive free throws against Iowa State on Nov. 23.

Kilpatrick finished 2012-13 with 577 points, the most scored in a season at UC during the Mick Cronin coaching era. One of only 11 players in school history to reach at least 1,400 career points during his third season, Kilpatrick will enter his senior year ranked 16th on the all-time scoring list with 1,444 career points.

Former Bearcat Yancy Gates was selected to participate in the 2011 USA Basketball Men's World University Games training camp but was not selected to the final roster.

2013 USA Basketball Men's World University Games Team training camp invitees:
Eric Atkins (Notre Dame/Columbia, Md.); Markel Brown (Oklahoma State/Alexandria, La.); Deonte Burton (Nevada/Los Angeles, Calif.); Quinn Cook (Duke/Washington, D.C.); Bryce Cotton (Providence/Tucson, Ariz.); Spencer Dinwiddie (Colorado/Woodland Hills, Calif.); C.J. Fair (Syracuse/Baltimore, Md.); Yogi Ferrell (Indiana/Indianapolis, Ind.); Davante Gardner (Marquette/Suffolk, Va.); Treveon Graham (Virginia Commonwealth/Temple Hills, Md.); Jerian Grant (Notre Dame/Bowie, Md.); P.J. Hairston (North Carolina/Greensboro, N.C.); A.J. Hammons (Purdue/Gary, Ind.); Luke Hancock (Louisville/ Roanoke, Va.); Joe Harris (Virginia/Chelan, Wash.); Tyler Haws (BYU/Alpine, Utah); Andre Hollins (Minnesota/ Memphis, Tenn.); Rodney Hood (Duke/Meridian, Miss.); Josh Huestis (Stanford/Great Falls, Mont.); Cory Jefferson (Baylor/Killeen, Texas); Sean Kilpatrick (Cincinnati/Yonkers, N.Y.); Alex Kirk (New Mexico/Los Alamos, N.M.); Devyn Marble (Iowa/Southfield, Mich.); Doug McDermott (Creighton/Ames, Iowa); Adreian Payne (Michigan State/Dayton, Ohio); Chasson Randle (Stanford/Rock Island, Ill.); Will Sheehey (Indiana/Stuart, Fla.); Aaron White (Iowa/Strongsville, Ohio); and Kendall Williams (New Mexico/Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.).