Ed Jucker Named a 2014 Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame Inductee
Ed Jucker is among 15 members of the 2014 Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame induction class.

June 28, 2013

Former University of Cincinnati men’s basketball head coach Ed Jucker will be among 15 members of the 2014 Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame induction class, the organization announced Friday.

The class includes eight former players, five coaches, an official and a pioneer for women’s college athletics. The induction will take place on May 17 at the Columbus Convention Center.

Jucker led the Bearcats to three consecutive national title game appearances from 1961 to 1963, winning back-to-back NCAA championships in 1961 and 1962. He coached UC for five seasons from 1961-65, compiling a 113-28 record with the Bearcats.

Jucker will join fellow coaches Brian Agler, Vince Chickerella, Walter Harrop, and Jerry Scheve along with former players Dean Chance, Helen Darling, Henry Finkel, Dennis Hopson, D'Artis Jones, Campy Russell, Georgia Schweitzer Beasley and Nick Weatherspoon. College administrator Helen Ludwig also will be included in the class.

The two teams entering the prestigious Hall of Fame are Wright State University's 1983 NCAA Men's Division II national champions and the Wilmington College women's team that won the 2004 NCAA Division III national title.

Joe Pangrazio, the 2014 officiating honoree, was selected by his fellow officials.

All other selections are made by a panel of Ohio College All-Americans, NBA Hall of Fame players, Ohio high school and college coaches, and the OBHOF board of directors.

Additional information regarding the class will be made available at ohiobasketballhalloffame.com.