Kilpatrick Named to Wooden Award Preseason List
Junior guard Sean Kilpatrick

Nov. 8, 2012 story link

CINCINNATI - University of Cincinnati junior guard Sean Kilpatrick has been named to the John R. Wooden Award List Preseason Top 50 the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced through on Thursday.

Kilpatrick, who was tabbed a preseason BIG EAST Conference first team selection by the league's coaches in October, ranks seventh among returning BIG EAST scorers (14.3 points per game) after leading the league in three-pointer made with 2.49 per game last season.

The Yonkers, N.Y., native was named a second team All-BIG EAST Conference selection last season. He scored in double figures in 29 of UC's 37 games and tallied 528 points last season - the second most in a single-season at UC during the Mick Cronin era. He posted a career-high 27 points in a 68-64 win at then-No. 11 Georgetown  (1/9/12) and scored a team-high 16 points, including the game-winning three-pointer with 2.7 seconds left, in a 70-67 UC win at then-No. 13 Connecticut (1/18/12).

Kilpatrick is one of seven BIG EAST Conference players named to the award's preseason Top 50 along with Louisville's Chane Behanan, Gorgui Dieng and Peyton Siva as well as Notre Dame's Jack Cooley, Providence's Vincent Council and Georgetown's Otto Porter.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball.  It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA.  Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), Candace Parker ('07 and '08), Kevin Durant ('09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut ('09 and `11). Kentucky freshman Anthony Davis won the men's Award in 2012.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the Preseason Top 50. The players on the list are considered strong candidates for the midseason list and the official voting ballot, both of which are open to freshman and transfer students. The National Ballot consists of approximately 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA.  The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation's top 10 players, will be announced the week of the "Elite Eight" round of the NCAA Tournament.

The 37th annual Wooden Award ceremony will honor the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, and will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, which in 2013 will go to Kansas Head Coach Bill Self. The event will take place the weekend of April 12-13, 2013.

The complete John R. Wooden Award List Preseason Top 50 list follows:
Name    Height    Class    Position    University    Conference
Keith Appling    6-1    Jr.    G    Michigan State    Big Ten
Chane Behanan    6-6    So.    F    Louisville    Big East
Kenny Boynton    6-2    Sr.    G    Florida    SEC
Lorenzo Brown    6-5    Jr.    G    North Carolina State    ACC
Trey Burke    6-0    So.    G    Michigan    Big Ten
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope    6-5    So.    G    Georgia    SEC
Isaiah Canaan    6-1    Sr.    G    Murray State    Ohio Valley
Jack Cooley    6-9    Sr.    F    Notre Dame    Big East
D.J. Cooper    6-0    Sr.    G    Ohio University    Mid-American
Vincent Council    6-2    Sr.    G    Providence    Big East
Allen Crabbe    6-6    Jr.    G    California    Pac-12
Aaron Craft    6-2    Jr.    G    Ohio State    Big Ten
Seth Curry    6-2    Sr.    G    Duke    ACC
Brandon Davies    6-9    Sr.    F    BYU    West Coast
Matthew Dellavedova    6-4    Sr.    G    Saint Mary's    West Coast
Gorgui Dieng    6-11    Jr.    C    Lousville    Big East
Jamaal Franklin    6-5    Jr.    G    San Diego State    Mountain West
Tim Frazier    6-1    Sr.    G    Penn State    Big Ten
Tim Hardaway, Jr.    6-6    Jr.    G    Michigan    Big Ten
Elias Harris    6-8    Sr.    F    Gonzaga    West Coast
Solomon Hill    6-7    Sr.    F    Arizona    Pac-12
Pierre Jackson    5-10    Sr.    G    Baylor    Big 12
Elijah Johnson    6-4    Sr.    G    Kansas    Big 12
Sean Kilpatrick    6-4    Jr.    G/F    Cincinnati    Big East
C.J. Leslie    6-9    Jr.    F    North Carolina State    ACC
James Michael McAdoo    6-9    So.    F    North Carolina      ACC
Ray McCallum    6-3    Jr.    G    Detroit    Horizon League
C.J. McCollum    6-3    Sr.    G    Lehigh     Patriot League
Doug McDermott*    6-8    Jr.    F    Creighton    Missouri Valley
Rodney McGruder    6-4    Sr.    G    Kansas State    Big 12
Tony Mitchell    6-8    So.    F    North Texas    Sun Belt
Mike Moser    6-8    Jr.    F    UNLV    Mountain West
Brock Motum    6-10    Sr.    F    Washington State    Pac-12
Le'Bryan Nash    6-7    So.    G/F    Oklahoma State    Big 12
Brandon Paul    6-4    Sr.    G    Illinois    Big Ten
Mason Plumlee    6-10    Sr.    F    Duke    ACC
Otto Porter    6-8    So.    F    Georgetown    Big East
Phil Pressey    5-11    Jr.    G    Missouri    SEC
André Roberson    6-7    Jr.    F    Colorado    Pac-12
Peyton Siva    6-0    Sr.    G    Louisville    Big East
Michael Snaer    6-5    Sr.    G    Florida State    ACC
Jarnell Stokes    6-8    So.    F    Tennessee    SEC
Adonis Thomas    6-7    So.    G/F    Memphis    Conference USA
Deshaun Thomas    6-7    Jr.    F    Ohio State    Big Ten
Christian Watford    6-9    Sr.    F    Indiana    Big Ten
Jeff Withey    7-0    Sr.    C    Kansas    Big 12
Nate Wolters    6-4    Sr.    G    South Dakota State    Summit League
B.J. Young    6-3    So.    G    Arkansas    SEC
Patric Young    6-9    Jr.    C    Florida    SEC
Cody Zeller    7-0    So.    F    Indiana    Big Ten

Players listed alphabetically   
*indicates player chosen to the 2012 Wooden All American Team
Based on a preseason poll.
Award winner honored April 5, 2012 at The Los Angeles Athletic Club.