Kilpatrick Named to Naismith Early Season Watch List
Junior guard Sean Kilpatrick

Nov. 13, 2012

CINCINNATI – University of Cincinnati junior guard Sean Kilpatrick has been named to the 2012-13 Nasmith early season watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced on Tuesday. He was named to the John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 watch list last on Nov. 8.

The 50-player watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012-2013 college basketball season. The Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 7, 2013 in Atlanta.

Kilpatrick was named a first team All-BIG EAST Conference selection by the league’s coaches in October.

The Yonkers, N.Y., native earned second team All-BIG EAST accolades last season, averaging 14.3 points and 4.6 rebounds while leading the BIG EAST Conference with 92 three-pointers. His scoring average ranks seventh among returning BIG EAST players. Kilpatrick led the Bearcats in scoring 13 games last season while reaching double figures in points in 29 contests.

Kilpatrick helped lead UC to the school’s first appearance in the BIG EAST Championship title game. The Bearcats also advanced to the NCAA Sweet 16 for the first time since 2001.

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will narrow the list to the four finalists.

Other notable Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year alumni include two three-time winners in Bill Walton and Ralph Sampson, Michael Jordan, Kevin Durant and last year’s winner, Anthony Davis of Kentucky. The Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s best player.



2012-13 Naismith Trophy Early Season Watch List:

Last, First –Class Position School

Anderson, Kyle -Freshman F UCLA

Behanan, Chane -Sophomore F Louisville

Boynton, Kenny -Senior G Florida

Brown, Lorenzo -Junior G North Carolina State

Burke, Trey -Sophomore G Michigan

Cannan, Isaiah -Senior G Murray State

Carter-Williams, Michael -Sophomore G Syracuse

Clarke, Rotnei -Senior G Butler

Cooley, Jack -Senior F Notre Dame

Cooper, DJ -Senior G Ohio

Craft, Aaron -Junior G Ohio State

Dellavedova, Matthew -Senior G Saint Mary's

Dieng, Gorgui -Junior C Louisville

Dixon Jr, Michael -Junior G Missouri

Franklin, Jamaal -Junior G San Diego State

Frazier, Tim -Senior G Penn State

Goodwin, Archie -Freshman G Kentucky

Harris, Elias -Senior F Gonzaga

Jackson, Pierre -Senior G Baylor

Kilpatrick, Sean -Junior G Cincinnati

Leslie, CJ -Junior F North Carolina State

Lyons, Mark -Senior G Arizona

Mbakwe, Trevor -Senior F Minnesota

McAdoo, James Michael -Sophomore F North Carolina

McCollum, CJ -Senior G Lehigh

McDermott, Doug -Junior F Creighton

McGruder, Rodney -Senior G Kansas State

McLemore, Ben -Freshman G Kansas

Mitchell, Tony -Sophomore F North Texas

Moser, Mike -Junior F UNLV

Muhammad, Shabazz -Freshman G/F UCLA

Noel, Nerlens -Freshman F Kentucky

Pangos, Kevin -Sophomore G Gonzaga

Plumlee, Mason -Senior F Duke

Porter, Otto -Sophomore F Georgetown

Poythress, Alex -Freshman F Kentucky

Pressey, Phil -Junior G Missouri

Roberson, Andre -Junior F Colorado

Siva, Peyton -Senior G Louisville

Smart, Marcus -Freshman G Oklahoma State

Snaer, Michael -Senior G Florida State

Stokes, Jarnell -Sophomore F Tennessee

Thomas, Adonis -Sophomore F Memphis

Thomas, Deshaun -Junior F Ohio State

Watford, Christian -Senior F Indiana

Withey, Jeff -Senior C Kansas

Wolters, Nate -Senior G South Dakota State

Young, BJ -Sophomore G Arkansas

Young, Patric -Junior C Florida

Zeller, Cody -Sophomore F Indiana