Football Honored At Ohio Statehouse Wednesday

Feb. 13, 2013

Ohio Statehouse Visit

CINCINNATI – Members of the University of Cincinnati football team and department of athletics traveled to Columbus Wednesday as the 2012 Bearcats were recognized for their accomplishments at the Ohio Statehouse.

Making the trip were director of athletics Whit Babcock, director of player personnel Antrione Archer, defensive lineman Adam Dempsey (Fort Thomas, Ky./Highlands), offensive lineman Parker Ehinger (Rockford, Mich./Rockford), kicker Tony Miliano (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder) and defensive back Chris Williams (Cincinnati, Ohio/Winton Woods). University staff included, Greg Vehr vice president for governmental relations & university communications, Margie Rolf, assistant vice president for governmental relations and Michael Carroll, assistant vice president for governmental relations.

Representative Denise Driehaus, whose 31st House District includes the UC campus, recognized the Bearcats in the House chamber with a resolution honoring the 2012 BIG EAST Conference and Belk Bowl Champions. Babcock addressed the assembled group on behalf of the UC travel party.

The Senate was not in session Wednesday, but Senator Eric Kearney, JD '89, the Senate minority leader who represents the 9th district, welcomed the Bearcats party in his office, presenting a Senate proclamation honoring the team and spending some time with members of the team talking about the Bearcats' championship season and the future plans of his constituents.

UC ended the season with a 10-3 mark, finishing No. 22 in the USA Today Coaches Poll. UC has been ranked to end the season in four of the past five years.

UC has won two straight postseason games and moves to 8-6 all-time in bowl games. The Bearcats are the only NCAA FBS AQ team to have won their conference crown four times in the past five seasons.

UC closed out its sixth 10-win season in 125 years of football. The Bearcats are one of only four NCAA FBS AQ programs to have won 10 games in five of the past six seasons, joining Alabama, Oklahoma and Oregon as teams who have achieved the mark.

UC has won 65 games and four league titles over the past seven seasons, the most among the current membership of the BIG EAST Conference. Over the past two years, UC has gone 20-6, won a pair of BIG EAST titles and has won two bowl games, the 2011 AutoZone Liberty Bowl and 2012 Belk Bowl.

UC will enter a new era in 2013, with head coach Tommy Tuberville taking the reins of the program. Tuberville, a 17-year head coaching veteran, was named UC's head coach in mid-December.

The Bearcats are scheduled to begin spring football on March 5, 2013 with the 15-practice session closing out on April 13.

Fans interested in purchasing 2013 football season tickets can visit or call 1-877-CATS-TIX to make deposits. Please note this is for new season ticket accounts only. Existing season ticket renewals for 2012 customers will go out in February.