Football Places 32 On BIG EAST All-Academic Team
DB Drew Frey

Feb. 15, 2013


Thirty-two University of Cincinnati student-athletes earned spots on the 2012 BIG EAST Conference All-Academic Football Team, the league office announced Friday.

The 32 Bearcats, most for any conference squad, were among 207 student-athletes league wide who achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above after completing a minimum of two semesters of academic work.

Drew Frey (Wilmington, Ohio/Clinton-Massie) and Dan Giordano (Frankfort, Ill./Lincoln-Way East) earned their fourth all-academic honors while Austen Bujnoch (Cincinnati, Ohio/Elder), Sean Hooey (Litchfield, Mich./Hillsdale), Colin Lozier (Cincinnati, Ohio/Colerain), Pat O'Donnell (Lakeworth, Fla./Palm Beach Central), Demetrius Richardson (Marlton, N.J./Cherokee/USMAPS) and George Winn (Southfield, Mich./University of Detroit Jesuit) snagged accolades for the third time.

UC ended the season with a 10-3 mark and a share of the BIG EAST Championship, finishing No. 22 in the USA Today Coaches Poll, the fourt time in five years the Bearcats have been ranked postseason. The Bearcats are the only NCAA FBS AQ team to have won their conference crown four times in the past five seasons.

UC closed out its sixth 10-win season in 125 years of football. The Bearcats are one of only four NCAA FBS AQ programs to have won 10 games in five of the past six seasons, joining Alabama, Oklahoma and Oregon as teams who have achieved the mark.

UC has won 65 games and four league titles over the past seven seasons, the most among the current membership of the BIG EAST Conference. Over the past two years, UC has gone 20-6, won a pair of BIG EAST titles and has won two bowl games, the 2011 AutoZone Liberty Bowl and 2012 Belk Bowl.



UC will enter a new era in 2013, with head coach Tommy Tuberville taking the reins of the program. Tuberville, a 17-year head coaching veteran, was named UC's head coach in mid-December.

The Bearcats are scheduled to begin spring football on March 5, 2013 with the 15-practice session closing out on April 13.

Fans interested in purchasing 2013 football season tickets can visit or call 1-877-CATS-TIX to make deposits. Please note this is for new season ticket accounts only. Existing season ticket renewals for 2012 customers will go out in February.

See the full list of honorees below:

CINCINNATI (32) Pos Cl Hometown Major
Mason Antoun WR Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio Psychology
Camaron Beard DL So. Indianapolis, Ind. Political Science
Austen Bujnoch OL Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio History
Derek Cox DB Jr. Mason, Ohio Finance
Adam Dempsey DL Sr. Fort Thomas, Ky. Operations Management
Conner Donnini DL Fr Dayton, Ohio Marketing
Eric Ernst P Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio Sport Administration
Adam Fearing RB Sr. Dayton, Ohio Marketing
Drew Frey DB Sr. Wilmington, Ohio Architectural Engineering Technology
Dan Giordano DL Sr. Frankfort, Ill. Accounting
Jared Golden TE Fr. Gallipolis, Ohio Organizational Leadership
Brad Harrah DL So. Marion, Ohio Sport Administration
Sean Hooey OL Sr. Litchfield, Mich. Marketing
Nick Hunt K Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio Graphic Communication & Design
Kevin Hyland LB Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio Marketing
Cory Keebler OL So. Liberty Township, Ohio Finance
Eric Lefeld OL So. Coldwater, Ohio Finance
John Lloyd P So. Cincinnati, Ohio Marketing
Colin Lozier LB Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio Psychology
Jordan Luallen LB Jr. Greenwood, Ind. Entrepreneurship
Jeff Luc LB Jr. Port St. Lucie, Fla. Criminal Justice
Breon Mapp DB Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio Health Education
Mitch Meador DL Jr. Greenwood, Ind. Organizational Leaderhsip
Tony Miliano K So. North Bend, Ohio Finance
Justin Murray OL Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio Criminal Justice
Pat O’Donnell P Jr. Lakeworth, Fla. Organizational Leadership
Demetrius Richardson TE Sr. Marlton, N.J. Criminal Justice
Sean Smith K So. Cincinnati, Ohio Mechanical Engineering Technology
Matt Staubach TE Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio Exploratory
Kirk Willis LS Fr. Granville, Ohio Sport Administration
George Winn RB Sr. Southfield, Mich. Paralegal Studies
Adrian Witty DB So. Deerfield Beach, Fla. Criminal Justice