Tuberville & Schaffer Tie For Second At Chick-fil-A Golf Classic

April 29, 2014

Photo Gallery | Complete Results

GREENSBORO, Ga. - University of Cincinnati Football Head Coach Tommy Tuberville and former standout linebacker JK Schaffer tied for second place in the eighth annual Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament at Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee outside Atlanta.

Tuberville and Schaffer, a linebacker for the Cincinnati Bengals, finished at 9-under par, tying with Mississippi State tandem Dan Mullen and Fred McCrary, four strokes behind Georgia Tech's Paul Johnson and Jon Barry (-13), who won the event for the third time.

The Bearcats duo earned $70,000 for UC's athletics scholarship fund.

"It was a great result for us," Tuberville said. "JK really played lights out today and we were able to tie for second. We didn't have much for Paul (Johnson) and Jon (Barry). They had it going. I am really excited we were able to bring home some money for the scholarship fund. I can't thank the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge enough for inviting us as it was a fantastic, first-class event."

Five teams tied for a fifth-place finish at seven under, including N.C. State's Dave Doeren and Terry Harvey; Auburn's Gus Malzahn and Bo Jackson; Clemson's Dabo Swinney and Steve Fuller; Ole Miss' Hugh Freeze and Sean Tuohy; and Alabama's Nick Saban and Mark Ingram.

The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge is the country's premier head coach and celebrity charity golf event featuring NCAA head coaches and former athletes and celebrities from the same school competing against their rivals for a share of a $520,000 scholarship purse.

Final official results from the 2014 Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge including scholarship winnings:

1 Georgia Tech (Paul Johnson, Jon Barry)  -13 $125,000
2 (T) Mississippi State (Dan Mullen / Fred McCrary) -9 $70,000
2 (T) Cincinnati (Tommy Tuberville / JK Schaffer) -9 $70,000
4 Arizona (Rich Rodriguez / Jack Wagner) -8 $50,000
5 (T) Alabama (Nick Saban / Mark Ingram) -7 $30,000
5 (T) Auburn (Gus Malzahn, Bo Jackson) -7 $30,000
5 (T) Clemson (Dabo Swinney / Steve Fuller) -7 $30,000
5 (T) N.C. State (Dave Doeren / Terry Harvey) -7 $30,000
5 (T) Ole Miss (Hugh Freeze, Sean Tuohy)  -7 $30,000
10 Virginia Tech (Frank Beamer / Brad Clontz) -5 $25,000
11 North Carolina (Larry Fedora / Roy Williams) E $20,000