Football Named UC Team of the Year
WR Anthony McClung

July 1, 2013

CINCINNATI - The University of Cincinnati football squad has garnered the distinct honor of Team of the Year, announced Monday by the department of athletics.

The football team closed out a 10-3 campaign in 2012 that saw the Bearcats win their fourth BIG EAST Conference Championship in five years and defeat Duke in the Belk Bowl.

Honored at the Ohio Statehouse in February for winning the conference title, UC is the only NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision automatic qualifier team to have won their conference crown four times in the past five seasons.

The Bearcats are one of only four NCAA FBS AQ programs to have won 10 games in five of the past six seasons, joining Alabama, Oklahoma and Oregon as teams who have achieved the mark.

Having finished the 2012 campaign No. 22 in the USA Today Coaches Poll, the Bearcats have been ranked in the Top-25 to end the season in four of the five years.

UC enters a new era in 2013, as Tommy Tuberville, a 17-year head-coaching veteran, takes over the program in the newly formed American Athletic Conference.

Season tickets for the 2013 football campaign are now on sale to the general public. The Bearcats will play all six home games inside Nippert Stadium with matchups scheduled against Connecticut, Louisville, Purdue, Northwestern State, SMU and Temple.