Derek Wolfe Selected For 2011 Outland Trophy Watch List
Defensive Tackle Derek Wolfe

July 8, 2011

CINCINNATI - University of Cincinnati senior Derek Wolfe (Lisbon, Ohio/Beaver Local) was named to the watch list for the 2011 Outland Trophy, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced Friday.

Wolfe started 12 games at defensive tackle, tallying 48 tackles, including 29 solo stops. He finished with 6.5 tackles for a loss, four sacks, a pair of quarterback hurries, one pass break up and one pass defended. He had eight tackles and a sack in the season opener at Fresno State and finished with seven tackles against both West Virginia and Pittsburgh.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists to be named on Nov. 21. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner.

The Outland Trophy, presented annually since 1946, is the third oldest award in major college football. The winner of the 66th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn and Kansas at the turn of the century, will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8 on ESPN.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 12, 2012, in Omaha, Neb.

For the complete 2011 Outland Trophy Watch List, visit:

The Bearcats, led by second-year head coach Butch Jones, return 18 starters from the 2010 squad, including unanimous First-Team All-BIG EAST quarterback Zach Collaros (Steubenville, Ohio/Steubenville), as well as a trio of Second-Team All-BIG EAST honorees in running back Isaiah Pead (Columbus, Ohio/Eastmoor Academy), linebacker J.K. Schaffer (Cincinnati, Ohio/LaSalle) and Woods.



Season tickets are on sale now and can be purchased by calling 1-877-CATS-TIX or visiting Single-game tickets will go on sale for UCATS members on July 11, 2011 and will be available to the general public on July 18.