Zach Collaros Named To 2010 Davey O'Brien Quarterback Award® Watch List

July 14, 2010

CINCINNATI - University of Cincinnati Zach Collaros (Steubenville, Ohio/Steubenville) was one of 30 quarterbacks nationwide to be named to the initial watch list for the 2010 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) Watch List Tuesday.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of The O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 30 of the nation's top collegiate quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2010 college football season.

Collaros appeared in all 13 games as a sophomore UC, making four starts and helping lead UC to a 12-1 season and its second-straight BIG EAST Conference Championship.

He was 93-of-124 for 1,434 yards and 10 touchdowns. Collaros also added a quarterback rating of 195.5, 344 yards rushing, and four touchdowns.

Collaros was named BIG EAST Player of the Week on Nov. 9, 2009 after setting a league record with 555 yards of total offense (480 passing, 75 rushing) against Connecticut. He was 29-of-37 for 480 yards and one TD through the air and carried the ball 13 times for 75 yards and two touchdowns. His 480 yards passing was the fourth 400-yard passing game in school history and ranks second all-time in UC history behind Greg Cook who threw for 554 against Ohio in 1968.

Along with Collaros, 2009 O'Brien Finalist Case Keenum (Houston) earned a spot on the list, as well as five 2009 semifinalists: Matt Barkley (USC), Jacory Harris (Miami [FL]), Jake Locker (Washington), Kellen Moore (Boise State) and Ricky Stanzi (Iowa).

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to be awarded The O'Brien. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 25. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 22. The 2010 winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 9.



The 34th Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 21, 2011 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O'Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

National College Football Awards Association The O'Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site,