Zach Collaros Tabbed For Manning Award Watch List

July 24, 2010

CINCINNATI - University of Cincinnati junior quarterback Zach Collaros (Steubenville, Ohio/Steubenville) was the 12th played named to the 2010 Manning Award Watch List Saturday.

Collaros appeared in all 13 games as a sophomore, making four starts and helping lead UC to a 12-1 season and its second-straight BIG EAST Conference Championship.

He was 93-of-124 for 1,434 yards and 10 touchdowns. Collaros also added a quarterback rating of 195.5, 344 yards rushing, and four touchdowns.

Collaros was named BIG EAST Player of the Week on Nov. 9, 2009 after setting a league record with 555 yards of total offense (480 passing, 75 rushing) against Connecticut. He was 29-of-37 for 480 yards and one TD through the air and carried the ball 13 times for 75 yards and two touchdowns. His 480 yards passing was the fourth 400-yard passing game in school history and ranks second all-time in UC history behind Greg Cook who threw for 554 against Ohio in 1968.

The members of the Watch List are being released in a completely random order.

Collaros also appears on the watch list for the 2010 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien).

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances. Ten finalists will be selected in late-November and the winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.

The preseason Watch List recognizes some of the top quarterbacks in the nation based on previous collegiate performance, however, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Monday, Nov. 29. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 19.



The Manning Award will be recognizing its seventh winner this year. USC's Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas' Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU's JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL's No. 1 draft pick. Boston College's Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor - he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. Last year's winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, the winningest quarterback in college football history. McCoy was picked by the Cleveland Browns in the 2010 NFL Draft.