Guidugli Named To Mackey Award Watch List

Aug. 16, 2010

WEST HARRISON, Ind. - University of Cincinnati senior tight end Ben Guidugli was named to the watch list for the 2010 John Mackey Award Monday.

The award, presented by the Nassau County Sports Commission, recognizes the nation's top collegiate tight end. The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2010 John Mackey winner will be announced on December 9, 2010.

Guidugli, a second-team all-BIG EAST Conference selection a year ago, was the fourth-leading receiver on the team, grabbing 27 balls for 264 yards and three touchdowns. He was also a second-team Preseason all-America selection by Sporting News.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists nine NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark ('01) of the 2006 Super Bowl Champion Indianapolis Colts, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('02) of the Denver Broncos, Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the 2008 Super Bowl Champion Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Cincinnati Bengals and the 2009 John Mackey Award recipient Aaron Hernandez of the New England Patriots.

The Bearcats open the 2010 season on Saturday, Sept. 4 at Fresno State. Kickoff is scheduled for 10 p.m. ET and the game will be televised on ESPN2. UC will open the home schedule on Sept. 11 against Indiana State at noon inside Nippert Stadium. Call 1-877-CATS-TIX or visit to reserve your season tickets today.