Twelve Former UC Student-Athletes On NFL Rosters Entering 2009

Sept. 6, 2009

CINCINNATI - Twelve former University of Cincinnati student-athletes are on the final 53-man rosters for their respective NFL teams entering the 2009 season.

2009 NFL Draft picks Connor Barwin (Houston Texans), Kevin Huber (Cincinnati Bengals), and Brandon Underwood (Green Bay Packers) made their respective rosters and will add to the nine other former UC letterwinners on NFL rosters entering 2009.

John Bowie battled back from spending the 2008 season on injured reserve to earn a roster spot with Oakland Raiders. He enters his third season.

Brent Celek and Trent Cole are going into their third and fifth seasons, respectively, with the Philadelphia Eagles.

Antonio Chatman (Cincinnati Bengals) was placed on injured reserve Sunday. The seventh-year receiver and return man had been battling an ankle injury through the preseason.

Troy Evans will start his eighth NFL campaign with the New Orleans Saints. Evans has emerged as one of the team's top special teams players and was a team captain in 2008.

Andre Frazier enters his sixth NFL season, and won a Super Bowl ring with the Pittsburgh Steelers in 2008.

Tyjuan Hagler is in his fourth season with the Indianapolis Colts after re-signing with the team in the offseason.

Haruki Nakamura starts his second season with the Baltimore Ravens as a backup safety and key special teams player. He played in all 19 games as a rookie finishing third on the team with 14 special teams tackles. He also had seven tackles and half a sack during the Ravens' 2008 playoff run.

Mike Wright enters his fifth season with the New England Patriots. Wright has made 53 appearances and seven starts for the Patriots, recording 108 tackles.



NFL stalwart Jason Fabini retired in the offseason after an 11-year career with the New York Jets, Dallas Cowboys, and Washington Redskins. Fabini has been serving an internship with the Kansas City Chiefs offensive staff during the summer of 2009.

Digger Bujnoch (New Orleans Saints), Trevor Canfield (Arizona Cardianls), Adam Hoppel (Cleveland Browns), Ryan Manalac (Buffalo Bills), Mike Mickens (Dallas Cowboys), Corey Smith (Kansas City Chiefs), and DeAngelo Smith (Dallas Cowboys) were among final roster cuts for their respective teams.

Players on waivers can be signed by another NFL team. Players who clear waivers are eligible to be signed to the practice squad of a respective team.