Anthony McClung Nominated For Receiver Performance Of The Year
Anthony McClung

Dec. 4, 2011


CHICAGO - University of Cincinnati sophomore wide receiver Anthony McClung (Indianapolis, Ind./Pike) has been nominated for the Receiver Performance of the Year, Intersport announced today.

McClung hauled in a career best eight receptions for 142 yards and a pair of touchdowns in UC's 35-27 win over Connecticut on senior day at Nippert Stadium.

Cincinnati (9-3, 5-2 BIG EAST Conference) clinched a share of its third BIG EAST Championship in four years and is one of the most improved teams in the NCAA FBS after more than doubling its win total of four from a year ago.

The Bearcats return to action against Vanderbilt in the 53rd AutoZone Liberty Bowl on Dec. 31, 2011 at Liberty Bowl Stadium in Memphis, Tenn. The game will kickoff at 3:30 p.m. ET and air on ABC.

The Receiver Performance of the Year is part of a four-month competition that lets fans determine which individual performances reign supreme during the 2011 college football season. The winners will be revealed during the two hour All-Star Football Challenge special airing at 7 p.m. ET Feb. 3 on ESPN2. In addition to recognizing the season's top performances, the All-Star Football Challenge will feature college football's biggest stars in a live skills challenge. In the 13 year history of the event, 41 first-round NFL draft picks have participated in the All-Star Football Challenge.

From the beginning of the year to the end of Bowl season, the two top wide receivers of the week will be featured on the All-Star Football Challenge Facebook page (, along with two top individual performers among quarterbacks, running backs and defensive players. The top weekly vote-getter will proceed to the finals, which run Jan. 16-22.

The other week thirteen nominee for Receiver Performance of the Year is Southern Miss' Tracey Lampley. Lampley had six receptions for 125 yards and two scores and ran the ball 14 times for 71 yards in the Golden Eagles' shocking 49-28 upset over Houston.

The All-Star Football Challenge features the top college football players competing in a series of skills competitions that put their individual talents on display. Past participants include Drew Brees, Aaron Rodgers, Santana Moss, Vince Young, Vernon Davis, Donovan McNabb, Edgerrin James, and many others.

About Intersport

For 25 years, Intersport has been an award-winning innovator and leader in the creation of sports and entertainment based marketing platforms. Intersport provides turnkey solutions for global brands by combining two award-winning divisions: Sponsorship & Event Marketing and Television & Digital Media.