Tepe Begins Play in NCAA Golf Championship on Thursday
UC head coach Doug Martin (left) with senior David Tepe.

May 15, 2013

Live Results from GolfStat

CINCINNATI – University of Cincinnati senior David Tepe (Liberty Township, Ohio) begins play at the NCAA Golf Championships on Thursday at the Ohio State University Golf Club in Columbus, Ohio. The three-round tournament played on the Scarlet Course runs through Saturday.

Tepe will tee off on the first hole beginning at 9:40 a.m. ET. Live results are available via golfstat.com here.

The Columbus regional is one of six, 54-hole regional tournaments taking place across the country on May 16-18. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at Ohio State. The low five teams and the low individual not from one of the five teams will advance from each regional to the finals May 28-June 2, at The Capital City Club, Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Ga.

“It’s like playing in a tournament during the summer when he’s not playing as part of a team, but as an individual,” UC head coach Doug Martin said. “He’s had some success in that format recently. You have to go out on the course with the mindset that you’re going to win the tournament. That you are going to play extremely well.

“David’s going to have to play great this week to advance to Atlanta,” Martin said. “But he’s familiar with the course here at Ohio State, having played it during high school tournaments, and he hit the ball well today in the practice round.”

Tepe earned entry into the national tournament by claiming medalist honors at the BIG EAST Conference Championship in Orlando, Fla., on April 30. He led from start to finish, posting a career-best 8-under par 69-69-70=208.



The senior becomes just the fourth UC player to be selected for the NCAA tournament and the first since 1974; joining George McManis (1965), Geoff Hensley (1969) and Jon Nichols (1974).

Teams competing in Columbus Regional:
1. New Mexico
2. Stanford
3. Auburn
4. South Carolina
5. Missouri
7. Texas Tech
8. Chattanooga
9. Georgia Southern
10. San Francisco
11. Virginia
12. Charlotte
13. Valparaiso

Individuals competing:
Scott Fernandez (Iowa State), Robin Sciot Siegrist (Louisville), Chris Selfridge (Toledo), Charlie Bull (Akron), Adam Schenk (Purdue), Matthew Moseley (Michigan State), Nathan Kerns (Marshall), Erik Van Rooyen (Minnesota), Korey Ward (Xavier) and David Tepe (Cincinnati).