Bearcats Celebrate 2010 Season With Annual Awards Banquet

March 22, 2011

Photo Gallery

CINCINNATI - The University of Cincinnati men's soccer team celebrated a successful 2010 season with its annual awards banquet on March 5 in the Tangeman University Center.

The Bearcats honored six seniors - Mark Konitsch, Chris Mitchell, Branden Stelmak, Tristan Watson, Nick Weightman, and Matt Williams - for their contributions to the program during their four seasons. The group led the Bearcats to a 7-5-7 overall record in 2010, a second-place BIG EAST finish, and a trip to the BIG EAST Championship semifinals.

Matt Bahner, a first-team all-American as selected by the Jewish Sports Review, earned the team's Offensive MVP award. Bahner also earned second-team all-BIG EAST honors as well as first-team all-Ohio accolades after leading the squad with seven goals, seven assists, and 21 points.

Williams was named the team's Defensive MVP after his all-BIG EAST senior campaign. He set a program record with a 0.68 goals against average and finished his career with 20 shutouts, second in school history.

Sophomore Roger Thompson earned the team's Newcomer of the Year award after transferring from Graceland University. Freshman Michael Millay was awarded the squad's Most Improved nod.

The Bearcat Award, David DeCarlo Award, and Mr. Bearcat Award went to Konitsch, Mitchell, and sophomore Daniel Cooperider, respectively.

The Bearcats open the spring slate at the Dayton Spring Tournament where they will battle in-state foes Ohio State and Dayton on April 3.