Six Bearcats Earn Men's Soccer Postseason Awards
Michael Millay and Coach Dayes

April 15, 2013

CINCINNATI –The University of Cincinnati men’s soccer team hosted its annual postseason banquet on Thurs., April 11 at the UCATS Lounge in Fifth Third Arena. Six players earned end of the season awards, including junior Michael Millay (Orlando, Fla./Dr. Phillips) who was named both Mr. Bearcat and the recipient of the Bearcat Award. Other awards presented were the Offensive MVP, the Defensive MVP, Most Improved, Newcomer of the Year and the David DeCarlo Award.

The Mr. Bearcat award is given to the student athlete who ranks the highest in all of the preseason fitness testing, including strength, fitness and agility benchmarks.  2013 marks the second consecutive year that Millay has been named Mr. Bearcat.

Millay was also given the Bearcat award, which is an award presented to the most spirited individual on the team. It also represents the player who best personifies the qualities of leadership and encouragement throughout the season.

The Offensive MVP award was presented to senior Leon Powell (Kingston, Jamaica/Excelsior) who totaled six points for Cincinnati in 2012. The forward led the team with three goals and took 33 shots with 14 on goal. Powell scored two goals in a 3-3 tie at conference opponent DePaul and added another during a 2-1 loss to Western Michigan.

Taylor Hafling (Louisville, Ky./Male) was awarded the Defensive MVP honor after playing every minute of the season between the pipes for Cincinnati. The redshirt sophomore played 1809:21 minutes while allowing only 22 goals. He anchored a defense that recorded a school-record six consecutive shutouts spanning from Sept. 14-Oct. 3. Hafling totaled eight shutouts on the season.

Freshman goalkeeper Alex Gill earned the Most Improved award after learning the ranks and the team system during his freshman season. Consequently, Gill earned playing time in the spring season, playing 25 minutes of shutout soccer against formidable opponent Duke on April 7.



The Newcomer of the Year award was given to freshman Gabriel Robinson (Easton, Pa./LaSalle). The defender played in, and started, 11 games for the Bearcats, accumulating 835 minutes of action. He played at least 90 minutes on five occasions and was a contributing factor in the school-record six consecutive shutouts.

The final award of the evening was the David DeCarlo Award, named in memory of the former Bearcats player who played from 1984-87. The honor is given to a senior who the coaches feel truly exemplifies hard work leadership. The 2013 recipient was midfielder Matt Bahner (West Chester, Ohio/Lakota West) who tallied two goals for four points on the season. Bahner started 13 games in 2012 after missing the entire 2011 season with an injury. Bahner recently signed a professional contract with the Harrisburg City Islanders of the United Soccer League Pro Division.

The 2013 men’s soccer banquet was part of the team’s annual Alumni Weekend that also included a golf outing, social, silent auction and alumni game.