BIG EAST Women's Basketball Tournament Bracket Announced
Dayeesha Hollins

March 5, 2013

BIG EAST Championship Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

CINCINNATI - The field for the 2013 BIG EAST Women's Basketball Championship has been finalized as announced by the conference office Monday evening.

The field of 15 teams will battle in 14 games during the five-day tournament, culminating in the crowning of the 2013 tournament champion and the awarding of the conference's automatic NCAA Championship berth. The 2013 BIG EAST Women's Basketball Championship Presented by American Eagle Outfitters will be held March 8-12 at the XL Center in Hartford, Conn.

Cincinnati (12-17, 4-12) has earned the No. 13 seed in the tournament and will play a first-round game against No. 12 seed Seton Hall (10-19, 5-11). The match up will kick off the tournament Friday, March 8 at 4 p.m.

The Pirates ended the regular season on a high note, defeating St. John's 60-51 on Saturday, March 2. The Bearcats enter the tournament winners in four of their last six outings. A 72-58 loss to Marquette Monday evening wrapped up the regular season for UC. Seton Hall won the regular-season meeting 64-56 back on Jan. 8 in Cincinnati.

The winner of the Seton Hall/Cincinnati game will play No. 5 seed St. John's (17-11, 11-5). The Red Storm defeated Seton Hall 72-46 before falling to the Pirates on the road on March 2. Against UC, St. John's recorded a 75-46 win on Feb. 17. The Red Storm have won seven of their last eight games.

Other first round games include No. 14 Providence facing No. 11 seed Georgetown and No. 15 seed Pittsburgh facing No. 10 Marquette.

No. 7 seed DePaul awaits the winner of the Pittsburgh/Marquette contest while No. 6 seed Villanova will face the winner of the Providence/Georgetown game. No. 9 Rutgers and No. 8 South Florida will face off against each other Saturday after earning byes into the second round.

No. 1 Notre Dame, No. 2 Connecticut, No. 3 Syracuse and No. 4 Louisville all earned byes into the quarterfinals on Sunday.