Randolph and Quisenberry Earn Conference Postseason Honors

March 6, 2014

CINCINNATI – The inaugural American Athletic Conference Women’s Basketball postseason awards were announced Thursday afternoon with a pair of Bearcats earning honors. Senior forward Jeanise Randolph earned second-team honors while Bianca Quisenberry landed a spot on the All-Freshman team.

Jeanise Randolph (Chicago, Ill./Thornton Fractional North) earned All-American Second-Team honors after enjoying a breakout senior season. Setting career highs in every major statistical category this season, Randolph is currently averaging 11.7 points per game, ranking 14th in the conference. The senior is also fourth in rebounding (8.8), eighth in field goal percentage (.512) and eighth in blocks (1.1).

Randolph owns 10 double-doubles this seasons, the most for a UC player in a season since Debbie Merrill recorded 12 during the 2002-03 campaign. After entering the season with 14 double-digit scoring games, Randolph achieved the feat 17 times this season.

The senior forward was named American Player of the Week and College Sports Madness Player of the Week twice this season. In addition she earned USBWA National Player of the Week honors after a double-double during a 64-49 win over Ohio State.

Randolph currently ranks 7th on UC’s single-season blocks list with 31 this season. Her career total of 83 places her fourth on Cincinnati’s all-time list.

Bianca Quisenberry (Springfield, Ohio/Tecumseh) was named to the All-Freshman Team after averaging 4.4 points, 4.0 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game. She is second on the team in assists (57), third in rebounds (107), fourth in minutes played (634) and fifth in steals (18).

Quisenberry earned American Athletic Conference Freshman of the Week honors after nearly recording a triple-double against Youngstown State with 21 points, nine rebounds and nine assists. Quisenberry is the first UC player to earn All-Freshman honors since Randolph and Kayla Cook (Webster, Ohio/South Webster) each garnered the honors in 2011. 

For the full conference release, please click here.

American Defensive Player of the Year
Stefanie Dolson, UConn, Sr., C
American Most Improved Player of the Year
Asia Taylor, Louisville, R-Sr., F
American Sportsmanship Award
Stefanie Dolson, UConn, Sr., C
Tia Gibbs, Louisville, R-Sr., G
American Sixth Player of the Year
Rateska Brown, Temple, Jr., G
All-Conference First Team
*Stefanie Dolson, UConn, Sr., C
*Bria Hartley, UConn, Sr., G
Moriah Jefferson, UConn, So., G
*Breanna Stewart, UConn, So., F
Sara Hammond, Louisville, Jr., F
Asia Taylor, Louisville, R-Sr., F
*Shoni Schimmel, Louisville, Sr., G
Ariel Hearn, Memphis, So., G
Kahleah Copper, Rutgers, So., G
Courtney Williams, USF, So., G
*Keena Mays, SMU, Sr., G
All-Conference Second Team 
Jeanise Randolph, Cincinnati, Sr., F
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, UConn, Jr., F
Kiah Stokes, UConn, Jr., C
Bria Smith, Louisville, Jr., G
Betnijah Laney, Rutgers, Jr., G/F
Tyler Scaife, Rutgers, Fr., G
Alisia Jenkins, USF, So., F
Inga Orekhova, USF, Sr., G
Akil Simpson, SMU, Sr., F
Feyonda Fitzgerald, Temple, Fr., G
Natasha Thames, Temple, R-Sr., F
All-Freshman Team
*Zykira Lewis, UCF, Fr., G
Bianca Quisenberry, Cincinnati, Fr., G
Saniya Chong, UConn, Fr., G
Emmonnie Henderson, Louisville, Fr., F
Breigha Wilder-Cochran, Memphis, Fr., G
Mooriah Rowser, Memphis, R-Fr., G
*Tyler Scaife, Rutgers, Fr., G
Ariadna Pujol, USF, Fr., G
*Kiara Perry, SMU, Fr., G
*Feyonda Fitzgerald, Temple, Fr., G
Taylor Robinson, Temple, Fr., C
[*] denotes unanimous pick                   
Ties are not broken