American Announces 2014-15 Women's Basketball Schedule Format

May 29, 2014

KEY BISCAYNE, Fla. – The American Athletic Conference announced the schedule model for the 2014-15 and 2015-16 women’s basketball regular seasons Thursday afternoon. In addition to the regular-season format, an 11-team conference championship bracket was also announced.

With the addition of East Carolina University, Tulane University and the University of Tulsa in 2014, The American’s basketball membership will increase to 11. The league’s 11 members will play an 18-game schedule. Each team will play eight of its 10 opponents twice and the other two opponents once each in a home and home format.

Each school will play the same home and home opponents over the course of two years in the current model. The single play opponents will switch sites in 2015-16.

For the 2014-15 season the Bearcats single-game opponents will include hosting Tulane and traveling to SMU. Cincinnati will play home and home series with the eight other league foes; UCF, UConn, ECU, Houston, Memphis, USF, Temple and Tulsa.

The American Women's Basketball Championship includes all 11 teams and will be seeded 1-11. The tournament will begin on Friday with matchups between the No. 9 and No. 8 seeds, No. 10 and No. 7 seeds and No. 11 and No. 6 seeds. The winners will advance to meet the first, second and third seeds, respectively, on Saturday. Also playing on Saturday will be the No. 5 and No. 4 seeds. The top five seeds in the championship will receive byes into Saturday's quarterfinal round. The 2015 American Women's Basketball Championship will be played March 6-9 at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn.

American women’s basketball 2014-15 home and away pairings: 

Play Only Home Play Only Away
Cincinnati Tulane SMU
UConn Houston UCF
ECU UCF Temple
Houston USF UConn
Memphis SMU Tulane
USF Tulsa Houston
SMU Cincinnati Memphis
Temple ECU Tulsa
Tulane Memphis Cincinnati
Tulsa Temple USF