Women's Golf Heads to Old Waverly Classic Monday
gobearcats.COM Valentina Herrera
gobearcats.COM
Valentina Herrera
gobearcats.COM

Sept. 29, 2013

CINCINNATI - The University of Cincinnati golf team will travel outside of the Midwest for the first time this season to compete at the Old Waverly Bulldog Invitational hosted by Mississippi State on Sept. 30 - Oct. 2.

The three-day event features a field of 11 teams including Cincinnati, Memphis, Murray State, Southern Miss, East Carolina, Florida International, Georgia State, South Alabama, South Florida and East Tennessee State.

The Old Waverly course has hosted numerous events including the 1999 U.S. Women's Open. Old Waverly has also hosted the men's and women's SEC Championship, Southern Golf Association Women's and Junior Championships, and the 2006 U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur Championship.

For this weekend the course will play at 6,113 yards. The longest holes fall back-to-back. Holes No. 9 and 10 will be 485 and 517 yards, respectively. The 12th hold will be the shortest hole at 130 yards, but is followed by a pair of lengthy par 4's.

Tournament action begins at 10:30 a.m. ET (9:30 a.m. CT) on Monday, September 30 with split tee times. Tuesday will kick off at 9:30 a.m. ET (8:30 a.m. CT), also with split tee times. Wednesday's final round will start at 9:30 a.m. ET (8:30 a.m. CT) with a shotgun start.

Admission to all rounds is free. Fans can enter Old Waverly Golf Club through the Main Gate on Old Waverly Road and can access the designated parking areas for spectators by following signs.

The Bearcats finished ninth at last season's event, firing rounds of 309, 298 and 311.

Live scoring for the tournament will be available at http://birdiefire.com/tournament/1855/.