Bearcats Lose Heartbreaker to Iona in Triple Overtime
Ramsland notched four goals against the Gaels on Saturday.

March 9, 2013

Final Stats

NEW ROCHELLE - Kylie Ramsland (Catonsville, Md./Chapelgate Christian Academy) and Taylor Young (Cincinnati, Ohio/Sycamore) scored four goals each for the University of Cincinnati's lacrosse team (2-2), but the Bearcats came up short to Iona College (2-3) as they fell 13-12 in triple overtime to the Gaels.

Young scored her first goal of the day just 2:08 into the match and Iona's Mary Kate McCormick tied things up 52 seconds later. McCormick would score another goal before UC's Megan Bell scored her first goal of the afternoon to tie the match 2-2.

After the Gaels went up 3-2, Ramsland, Courtney Curtis (Mason, Ohio/Mason) and Bell scored the next three goals to give UC a 5-3 lead. Iona then scored twice in the final 20 seconds of the first half as the Gaels and Bearcats went into the locker room tied 5-5.

Ramsland opened the second half with her second goal of the day, but Iona scored the next three goals to take an 8-6 lead. With 19:06 in the second half Young notched her second goal and pulled the Bearcats within one (8-7), but Iona went on a 4-1 run to take a 12-8 lead with just over seven minutes to play in regulation.

UC used the last 7:11 of regulation to go on a 4-0 scoring frenzy with two goals by Young and one goal each from Ramsland and Curtis in the final 13 seconds of regulation to tie the match 12-12.

Both teams went through the first two overtime periods without scoring, leading to the third (sudden-death) overtime. With 1:38 to play in the third overtime, Iona's McCormick netted her fourth goal of the day to give the Gaels the 13-12 victory.

Goalkeeper Meg Gulmi (Syosset, N.Y./Syosset) faced 27 shots and had seven saves. The Bearcats dominated free position shots, scoring on 4-of-4 attempts.



With the loss the Bearcats sit at 2-2 on the season while Iona improves to 2-3.

Next up for the Bearcats is a home contest against Liberty on Thursday, March 14. First draw is 2 p.m. at Nippert Stadium.