Cincinnati Announces 2009 Schedule
gobearcats.COM Natalie Starvaggi
Natalie Starvaggi

Jan. 13, 2009

CINCINNATI - The University of Cincinnati lacrosse team has announced its 2009 schedule, which includes its first season of BIG EAST Conference action. The Bearcats join rival University of Louisville in their first season of BIG EAST competition and will play eight home games, including hosting two teams nationally ranked in the Top 20 of the final 2008 Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Poll.

"We are eager to play another challenging schedule,” said head coach Lellie Swords. “We are excited to begin BIG EAST play and look forward to the opportunity to improve our level of play from a season ago."

The team's spring slate features a total of five contests against opponents that finished the 2008 season nationally ranked – at John’s Hopkins (March 4), Vanderbilt (March 15), at Syracuse (March 29), Notre Dame (April 3), and at Georgetown (April 18).

The Bearcats start the season with a four-game road swing, beginning at Presbyterian (Feb. 15). A trip to the Steel City includes games against Duquesne (Feb. 20) and Robert Morris (Feb. 22), followed by a visit to lacrosse power Johns Hopkins (March 4).

Cincinnati’s first home game is on March 8, taking on Villanova. The Bearcats host Vanderbilt (March 15) and Fresno State (March 25) before hosting a four-game BIG EAST homestand in April, beginning with Notre Dame (April 3), Rutgers (April 5), Loyola (April 11), and Louisville (April 15).



Cincinnati has road games at Ohio State (March 11) and at Connecticut (March 27), and plays LeMoyne (April 19) in a neutral contest at St. Paul's School for Girls in Brooklandville, Md. The BIG EAST Women’s Lacrosse Championship, hosted by Georgetown on April 24 and 26, brings the top four teams in the conference standings at the conclusion of the regular season. The Bearcats final regular season game will be played at Gettler Stadium when UC takes on Detroit Mercy (April 29).

The NCAA Tournament opens first round play on May 10, with the Final Four taking place in Towson, Md., on May 22.