Oliver and Team USA Earn No. 1 Seed Following FIL World Cup Pool Play

July 18, 2013

OSHAWA, Canada – University of Cincinnati head women’s lacrosse coach Gina Oliver and Team USA cruised through the pool play round of the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Cup, earning the No. 1 seed entering the Championship Play Round.

Team USA will now face Team Haudenosaunee Thursday at 12:30 p.m. The winner of that contest will face the England/Wales winner Friday, July 19 at 11:30 a.m. The other side of the bracket features quarterfinal matches of No. 2 Canada vs. No. 10 Israel and No. 3 Australia vs. No. 11 Scotland.

Team USA knocked off England (17-7), Wales (19-2), Australia (18-9) and Canada (13-2) during pool play. The squad outscored opponents by a 67-20 total. Oliver was a member of the defensive unit that limited opponents to an average of five goals per game. Oliver made two starts, adding six ground balls and four caused turnovers.

Team USA has previously defeated Team Haudenosaunee 20-0 back on July 2012. The Americans jumped out to a 14-0 lead before adding six second-half goals.

Team USA enters as the reigning champion, having won the FIL World Cup in 2009 in Prague, Czech Republic. It was the team’s sixth World Cup championship, having brought home the gold in 1982, 1989, 1993, 1997 and 2001. The United States finished as the runner-up in 1986 and 2005.

Oliver is making her second FIL World Cup appearance having won gold with the squad during 2009. A veteran anchor on the defense, Oliver made her first stint with the national team from 2006-09 before returning in 2011. In January of 2013, US Lacrosse announced that Oliver was one of 18 players named to the national team.

World Cup Championship Play Schedule:

Quarterfinals – Thursday, July 18th
12:30 PM – #1 USA vs. #8 Haudenosaunee
3:00 PM – #4 England vs. #5 Wales
5:30 PM – #2 Canada vs. #10 Israel
8:00 PM – #3 Australia vs. #11 Scotland



Semifinals – Friday, July 19th
11:30 AM – Haudenosaunee/USA Winner vs. England/Wales Winner
2:00 PM – Canada/Israel Winner vs. Australia/Scotland Winner

Finals - Saturday, July 20th