Cincinnati to Face UConn at Inaugural American Tennis Championship
Kelly Poggensee-Wei

April 16, 2014

American Tournament Central  |  Championship Bracket

CINCINNATI - The University of Cincinnati women’s tennis team is set to compete in the first-ever American Athletic Conference Women’s Tennis Championship this weekend. The Bearcats will open tournament play as the No. 8 seed on Thursday, April 17 at 9 a.m. against the No. 9 seed UConn Huskies at the University of South Florida on the USF Varsity Courts.

The Bearcats handled business against the Huskies earlier this season, defeating UConn 6-1 at a neutral site in White Sulphur, W.Va. Cincinnati earned the first point during doubles action winning two of three matches. The Bearcats went on to win five of six singles match picking up their first conference win of the year.

Cincinnati in singles play has been led by senior Ashleigh Witte (West Chester, Ohio/Lakota West) for most of the year. Witte has earned the team’s best singles record at 14-8 while also posting a 12-8 record with her running mate Lauren Belligner (Dublin, Ohio/Dublin Jerome). Senior Caitlin O’Gara (Springboro, Ohio/Bishop Fenwick) and sophomore Kelly Poggensee-Wei (Lake Villa, Ill./Grayslake North) hold the teams top doubles record at 14-8, winning seven of their last ten matches.

UConn ended their regular season with an 8-11 record and a 0-4 mark during conference play. The Huskies concluded the season on a three-game winning streak, marking their longest of the year. Srna Stosljevic produced the best singles record for the Huskies at 20-11. She dropped her decision to Poggensee-Wei 6-3, 6-3 earlier in the year. Stosljevic also was a top performer in doubles at 11-9 with the help of her team mate Lucy Nutting.



The winner will go on to play top seed Houston Cougars on Friday, April 18. The No. 32 Cougars are one of four teams in the American that currently appear in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) rankings. No. 39 Memphis, No. 41 South Florida and No. 56 Louisville are the others representing the No. 2, No. 3 and No. 4 seeds respectively.