Bearcats Placed in Tallahassee for First Round of NCAA
Bearcat volleyball celebration

Nov. 27, 2011

2011 NCAA Volleyball Interactive Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS - The field of 64 teams for the 2011 NCAA Championship was set tonight on ESPNU's Selection Show. The University of Cincinnati will face Samford at Florida State Friday December 2.

The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and placed within four regions. The teams tabbed as the top four seeds were No. 1 University of Texas at Austin; No. 2 University of Nebraska, Lincoln; No. 3 University of Illinois, Champaign; and No. 4 Iowa State University.

The Bearcats are in the Minneapolis, Minnesota Regional. The dates of the first two rounds and teams in this region are:

December 2-3 at West Lafayette, Indiana : No. 5 Purdue (27-4) vs. Morehead St. (26-7) and Ball St. (25-7) vs. Louisville (23-8)

December 2-3 at Tallahassee, Florida: Cincinnati (26-9) vs. Samford (29-4) and Albany (NY) (21-8) vs. No. 12 Florida St. (24-6)

December 2-3 at Minneapolis, Minnesota: No. 13 Minnesota (18-11) vs. North Dakota St. (25-8) and Western Mich. (24-8) vs. Washington (23-7)

December 2-3 at Ames, Iowa: Northern Ill. (28-6) vs. Miami (FL) (25-4) and Milwaukee (25-4) vs. No. 4 Iowa St. (22-5)

A win in the first round against Samford and another win the next day against the winner of the Florida State/Albany (NY) would advance the team into the Sweet 16 for the first time in head coach Reed Sunahara's time at UC.